Staying informed and continuously acquiring knowledge is key to maintaining one’s value. Below is a master list of content sources and techniques for scanning through so much material. I highly recommend spending time each day to do as much reading as you can.

knowledge3

Getting Started:

  • The easiest way to aggregate all these sources of content is to use the http://my.yahoo.com portal to source in most of these sites which have RSS feeds.
  • Many of these sites have email subscriptions.
  • FlipBoard (the mobile app and website, https://flipboard.com/) is also another great way to subscribe to a large variety of sources.

User Groups & Communities

  1. http://www.meetup.com

 Leadership & Management

  1. HBR Tip of the Day: https://hbr.org/
  2. Inc.com: http://www.inc.com/ (also avail as an App, Facebook, and Twitter)
  3. FastCompany: http://www.fastcompany.com (also avail as an App, Facebook, and Twitter)
  4. Forbes on Leadership: http://www.forbes.com/leadership/
  5. Yastrow: http://yastrow.com/
  6. Stephen Shapiro: http://stephenshapiro.com/
  7. NY Times Corner Office: http://www.nytimes.com/column/corner-office
  8. Lead On Purpose: http://leadonpurposeblog.com/
  9. Phil Gerbyshak: http://www.philgerbyshak.com/
  10. Steve Farber: http://www.stevefarber.com/
  11. Johanna Rothman: http://www.jrothman.com/
  12. Leading Answers: http://leadinganswers.typepad.com/
  13. John Agno: http://www.coachingtip.com/

Technology Management

  1. Baseline Magazine: http://www.baselinemag.com
  2. CIO Insight: http://www.cioinsight.com/
  3. CIO Magazine: http://www.cio.com/
  4. Forbes on Technology: http://www.forbes.com/technology/

Technology Industry

  1. ReadWrite Web: http://readwriteweb.com 
  2. ThoughtWorks Technology Radar: http://www.thoughtworks.com/radar
  3. The NextWeb: http://thenextweb.com
  4. Digital Times: http://www.digitaltimes.ie/
  5. TechCrunch: http://techcrunch.com/ (Mobile App Available)
  6. Engadget: http://www.engadget.com/ (Mobile App Available)
  7. The Verge: http://www.theverge.com/
  8. TechRepublic: http://www.techrepublic.com/
  9. TechTarget: http://www.techtarget.com/
  10. Ventana Research: http://marksmith.ventanaresearch.com/

Startups / VCs / Lean Development

  1. VentureBeat: http://venturebeat.com/
  2. OnStartups: http://onstartups.com/
  3. Software By Rob: http://www.softwarebyrob.com/
  4. Startup Lessons Learned: http://www.startuplessonslearned.com/
  5. Founder Weekly: http://www.founderweekly.com/

Software Development – General

  1. SD Times: http://sdtimes.com
  2. DZone: http://dzone.com
  3. Joel on Software: http://www.joelonsoftware.com/
  4. Spring Blog: http://spring.io/blog
  5. InfoWorld App Development: http://www.infoworld.com/category/application-development/
  6. Successful Software: http://successfulsoftware.net/
  7. Status Code: http://statuscode.org/
  8. DevMag.io: http://devmag.io/

Software Development – Web Centric

  1. DailyJS: http://dailyjs.com/
  2. Sencha Blog: http://www.sencha.com/blog/
  3. HTML5 Rocks: http://www.html5rocks.com/en/
  4. JavaScript Weekly http://javascriptweekly.com
  5. Nic Raboy’s Blog: https://blog.nraboy.com/
  6. HTML5 Weekly: http://html5weekly.com/
  7. CSS Weekly: http://css-weekly.com/
  8. Web Tools Weekly: http://webtoolsweekly.com/
  9. NG-Newsletter (AngularJS): http://www.ng-newsletter.com/
  10. HTML XPRS: http://www.htmlxprs.com
  11. CSS Code Guide: http://codeguide.co/
  12. Scalable & Modular Architecture for CSS: https://smacss.com/
  13. JavaScript YouTube Channel: Douglas Crockford
  14. Books
    1. 15 Free Awesome & Free JavaScript Books: http://tutorialzine.com/2015/05/15-awesome-and-free-javascript-books/ 
    2. 60+ Books on popular technologies: https://www.syncfusion.com/resources/techportal/ebooks
    3. Creative Programming: http://natureofcode.com/book/

Software Development – MSFT Centric

  1. Microsoft Virtual Academy: http://www.microsoftvirtualacademy.com/
  2. Channel9: https://channel9.msdn.com/
  3. DotNet Weekly: http://www.dotnetweekly.com/
  4. C# Corner: http://www.c-sharpcorner.com/

Software Development – Other Languages

  1. Ruby Weekly: http://rubyweekly.com/
  2. Node Weekly (NodeJS): http://nodeweekly.com/
  3. Python Weekly: http://www.pythonweekly.com/
  4. PyCoders: http://www.pycoders.com/
  5. TypeSafe NewsLettter (Scala, Akka, Play): http://typesafe.com/newsletter
  6. This Week in Scala: http://www.cakesolutions.net/teamblogs

Mobile:

  1. iOS Dev Weekly: https://iosdevweekly.com/
  2. Android Weekly: http://androidweekly.net/
  3. Mobile Web Weekly: http://mobilewebweekly.co/
  4. ObjC.io Newsletter: http://www.objc.io/

UI/UXD

  1. Smashing Magazine: http://www.smashingmagazine.com/
  2. UX Matters: http://www.uxmatters.com/
  3. InspireUX: http://www.inspireux.com/
  4. Web Design Weekly: https://web-design-weekly.com/
  5. SiteInspire: http://www.siteinspire.com/

BI & DB

  1. Information Management: http://www.information-management.com
  2. InfoWorld Big Data: http://www.infoworld.com/category/big-data/
  3. Hadoop Weekly: http://www.hadoopweekly.com/
  4. Big Data Weekly: http://bigdataweekly.com/
  5. NoSQL Weekly: http://www.nosqlweekly.com/
  6. DB Weekly: http://dbweekly.com/
  7. Postgres Weekly: http://postgresweekly.com/
  8. MySQL Weekly: http://mysqlnewsletter.com/

Agile & Project Management

  1. Source of Insight: http://sourcesofinsight.com/
  2. Scrum Expert: http://www.scrumexpert.com/
  3. Scrum Crazy: https://scrumcrazy.wordpress.com/
  4. Eight To Late: https://eight2late.wordpress.com
  5. RemoteWorking: https://remoteworking.curated.co/

DevOps